science fiction dance film



Togetherness is a science-fiction dance film that looks into longing for togetherness, made with and for The Backyard Collective.


Covid-19 changed our way of togetherness into a more digital, online always connected manner. The paradox of always being together through different digital platforms, but never physically present in the same space. The film aims to mirror this through abstract and poetic images.

The film can be seen as a living photographic work, in which Pieter conveys his vision through the images and the dance and not the chronology or the text. In a way it is an anthology work that is connected thematically, more so than narratively. A close collaboration between Pieter and director of photography Davide Belotti has led to a visual aesthetic that translates this thematic connectivity between the scenes. 

stills from Togetherness



direction and screenplay

     Pieter Desmet

director of photography 

     Davide Belotti


     Alexa Moya Panksep, Machias Bosschaerts, Julia Godino Llorens, Pauline Van Nuffel, Meike Stevens,

      Aki Iwamoto, Klara Esnerova, Daan Jaartsveld, Margot Masquelier


     The Backyard vzw


     Persona . Kokos / Wim Vandekeybus


     Pieter Desmet

production managers 

      Aïda Gabriëls & Annelies Heyrman

production assistant

      Júlia Godino Llorens

first assistant camera

     Giel Dhaenens

second assistant camera 

     Jonathan De Maeyer


     Jan Van Lindt

technician video projection 

     Herr Schröder

boom operator 

     Jeroen Heymans & Tim Coenegrachts

art director 


set dressers 

     Junior Yussuf,  Alexandros Anastasiadis, Maureen Bator, Magdalena Ottl, Steffi Mennen & Jonathan De


costume The Creature

     Machias Bosschaerts


     Machias Bosschaert . Margot Masquelier


     Adriaan de Roover


     Samuel Agniel, Pieter Desmet

analogue set photographer 

     Yuan Yao​

backstage photographer 

     Johan Pijpops & Jonathan De Maeyer


     Maureen Bator, Steffi Mennen & Margot Masquelier

with the support of 

     Stad Antwerpen, Ostron, Petra Arckens


     Anne Crevits, Flavio D'Andrea, Adriaan de Roover, Johan Tuytschaever, Martine Van Canegem, Tijen Lawton,

     Steffi Mennen, Magdalena Ottl, Ariane Paul, Hilde Vanwynsberghe, Wietse Vendrig, Kristien De Coster,

     Takashi Iwamoto, Célia Ung-Hoi, Peggy Cappelle, Helen Cools, Jolien Derck, Sergio Flórez, Isabel Godino

     Romero, Yasemin Kandemir, Tuur Marinus, Elliot Minogue-Stone, Arnau Ortiz Mateu, Frieda Ostyn, Ismini

     Slijper, Karl Stroobant, Hanne Torfs, Ehren Verrelst, Nina Wallenius, and those who wish to remain anonymous 

Special thanks to 

     AP Hogeschool Antwerpen / Royal Conservatory Antwerp, deSingel Internationale Kunstencampus, Ultima

     Vez, Destelheide